La Mirada Displicente

Crónicas del Príncipe de las Bellotas

Who murdered the minutes

with 2 comments

Who murdered the minutes
The bright, golden minutes
The minutes of youth?
I, said the soldier, dressed in his red coat
I with my trumpet, my sword and my flag
I murdered the minutes
I took the minutes and what good I did,
For see how the black men kneel, he said

Who killed the hours
The gay purple hours
The hours of faith
I, said the Parson, in his black cloak
I with my book and my bell and my pen
I killed the hours
I killed the hours
As my holy right
and see how the people kneel at night

Who slew the years
the sweet precious years
The years of truth
I, said the lover, in her gay gown
I with my lips and my breast and my eyes
I slew the years
I slew the years
My silly dove
And see how you kneel to me in love
(Henry Treece)

 

Written by Zanobbi

diciembre 1, 2007 a 10:19 am

Publicado en Musica, Poesia

Tagged with , ,

2 comentarios

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. correction:

    I slew the years my silly *dove*
    And see how you kneel to me in love

    effigy jay

    abril 24, 2010 at 7:39 pm

  2. Ooops, thank you SO much. You know, my English is SO poor… I always loved this

    Zanobbi

    abril 25, 2010 at 9:29 am


Responder

